Livre d'or

Henning, Stefan  |  22/04/2014

Wir waren im November 2012 zu Gast im Number 11. Die Tatsache, dass wir uns knapp 1,5 Jahre später im Gästebuch verewigen, ist wohl Beweis genug, dass wir uns besonders gern an dieses außergewöhnliche Gästehaus erinnern. Machen wir’s kurz: Das Haus selbst, die famose Einrichtung, der herzliche Empfang, die liebevolle Bewirtung – das war eine verdammt runde Sache. "Perfekt" ist ein großes Wort, aber in diesem Fall sind wir geneigt, die volle Punktzahl zu vergeben - plus Sternchen. Allein, vom Duft frisch gebackener Croissants geweckt zu werden...hach! Zu Brügge kann man stehen, wie man mag. Für uns hatte sich der Erlebnis- und Unterhaltungswert der Stadt nach einem Tag erschöpft. Einen zweiten Besuch werden wir dennoch mit Sicherheit wagen - und einfach 3 Tage im Number 11 verbringen. :) Liebe Grüße aus Köln! Rica & Stefan

Catherine and James  |  3/04/2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from Bruges for the Easter bank holiday (2013) and stayed at Number 11 in the Deluxe Suite as a treat on our final night. I cannot stress enough how lovely this B&B is. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (organising taxi’s / letting us check out slightly later / letting us leave bags until we departed for the train station etc.) the breakfast was generous and made to order unlike most ’help yourself’ continental breakfasts but by far and away the best part of this B&B is the attention to detail and the beautiful room. The decor is very chic and within the suite there is everything you could want; a lovely sitting-room with real log fire for the evenings complete with board games to play in front of it; ’mini bar’ which is actually a proper fridge stocked with Champagne, wine, beer and soft drinks; a fabulous double bath with lots of toiletries, dressing gowns for both of us and loads of towels and lovely Egyptian cotton bedding. If you stay in the suite you also have double doors onto the charming courtyard with your own outside seating and very efficient outside heater (it was very cold when we visited and we were still able to sit out a little and enjoy the garden with a glass of wine). The location is also very convenient. Placed on a pretty side street it is just a short walk to both the main square and the wonderful canals which are lined with bars and restaurants. Even though the pictures on the website look lovely they honestly don’t do it justice in real life. I cannot recommend Number 11 highly enough!

LYDIA L /Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk  |  3/04/2013

“Luxurious and welcoming B&B in Bruges” Number 11 Guesthouse was the perfect place to stay in Bruges: it is stylish, cosy and feels very luxurious without being stuffy. The inn hosts couldn’t be more welcoming or friendly, they made us feel really at home. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and delicious. There were extra chocolates and biscuits left everywhere, and really good tea and coffee making facilities in the kitchen available any time. The location is perfect - right by the canal, but out of the main drag of town so it feels like you are a little off the beaten track (although you are no more than five minutes walk from the main action). I was so sad to leave Number 11 - I could have stayed for ever!

Traveljuju Chicago Illinois  |  2/03/2013

“Perfection” After reading reviews and perusing the website of Number 11 Luxury Guesthouse in Bruges, Belgium, I was expecting great things. What I was not expecting was to absolutely fall in love with this place to the point I want to live there to this day. We arrived in Bruges after a wonderful 4 days in Antwerp. We took a cab from the airport as the center of town is quite a walk and formidable on cobbled streets with lots of luggage. We arrived and were greeted by Karen who was warm and stylish (fashion radar blinking...simple and elegant). She set aside our bags and took us through to the stunning communal living room (If this was featured in a catalog, I would want to order everything), and brought us espresso. She then went over the property, incredibly useful information about Bruges, and made our first evening’s dinner reservations at one of her personal favorites. She showed us the lovely dining room which overlooks the garden and the kitchen. We were then informed that not only does the owner run this lovely gem of a B&B, but also has a boutique chocolate and coffee line. We then sampled the truffles which were outrageously delicious (and proved to be at the top of my list of chocolate we sampled in Bruges...no small feat). You can use the kitchen whenever you like to make coffee and grab some truffles!Tanya then escorted us through one of the loveliest walled gardens I have ever seen. We entered the Deluxe Suite from our beautiful patio which overlooks the entire garden. Walking into the suite was dreamlike, almost as if someone had created every detail just for me. There are two entrances, one from the street and one through large sliding glass doors onto the garden. There is a long hallway from the street side, with a handy private half bath off the end. Then through gorgeous French doors, you step into the living room/library. The room has two incredibly comfortable leather chairs facing a fireplace (ready to go with wood and starters), a work desk and chair and a huge wall of bookshelves, filled with a staggering variety of books. One could easily spend their vacation in this room reading in front of the fire with a bottle of wine. We tried to keep it to the rainy evenings we luckily experienced while there! Off the living room is the bedroom, which also has glass doors onto the garden. From the gorgeous ceiling beams and the most luxurious linens to the soothing shades of white and pale blue, this room could not be more comforting, luxurious and serene. The main bath is off the bedroom and I still want to create a bathroom like this in my own home someday. The beautiful shades of white and blue, a gorgeous large framed map on the wall and wood floors are the setting for a separate shower and a free standing, huge bath tub, sparkling clean and just perfect. If you are a bath person like me, you will greatly enjoy a long bath with a glass of wine after a long day exploring this tremendously fascinating city. There is also a full kitchen off the living room, stocked with basic food items and glassware. The full fridge is so handy if you want to bring home wine and cheese or other finds from the various markets around Bruges. Breakfast is included and you will most likely be waited on by Hilda, who was one of my favorite people I met on this trip. She cooked us delicious eggs and brought out fresh squeezed juices, fresh pastries and the most delicious coffee. She was so warm and helpful, it was an amazing way to begin each day.The hotel is located right off the main canal in the heart of town. It is so central, yet due to it’s location on a side street over a beautiful bridge, absolutely quiet and free from throngs of tourists.I still dream about this place. It was a sheer joy coming "home" to this every evening we were in Bruges, and can’t imagine ever staying anywhere else when we visit again someday. If you want to stay in a place that feels like a luxurious home, but with the conveniences of a small expertly run hotel, this unique property is for you

Jan en Ingrid Zwetsloot  |  24/02/2013

2 geweldige dagen gehad in Brugge. Dit is zeker ook te wijten aan jullie fantastische pension; de sfeer, de entourage en jullie als gastvrouwen, alles van een zeer hoog niveau. We komen zeker terug en raden het onze vrienden aan Een vriendelijke groet, Jan en Ingrid Zwetsloot

Lauren Assoignon  |  23/08/2012

Que dire de cet endroit: tout simplement magique! l’acceuil est chaleureux,la situation est parfaite, la décoration est stylée,le petit déjeuner est copieux et varié. En ce qui concerne les chambres, elles sont décorées avec gout et sont très spacieuses. Un endroit à recommander sans hésitation avec un rapport qualité/prix plus que correct. Vous pouvez y aller les yeux fermés!

INGLE VANCOUVER CANADA  |  22/08/2012

“A Jewel in the Bruges Crown” 5 of 5 starsReviewed August 17, 2012 DH and I spent 3 nights in the exquisite ground floor suite in this gem of a B & B. We have been in 5 star, deluxe and luxury establishments the world over and can state that for all the reasons posters have rated their experiences so highly, and more, this B & B is at the top of our list. The suite costs more than the other 3 rooms - 220 euros per night (if staying > 1 night) and for us, worth every euro. I did my usual no-stone-unturned research when selecting a place to stay in Bruges. I wanted something unforgettable, and investigated closely both the Relais Bourgondisch and the Orangerie, as well as Die Swaene, the Pand, and about 5 others highly rated on TA. After comparing what was offered for the price, I decided the suite at Number 11 was the best choice. After my experience at Number 11 and having seen the others as we walked the town, I am so happy we settled on Number 11.The service is what separates the good from the exceptional, and the warm, friendly, casual attentiveness and ease with which we were treated was second to none. Tania was lovely to meet after a long day of travel - sharing information as well as smiles and laughter. But it was Hilde, the most personable, positive, interested, and happy host, who declared, "I am going to treat you like a queen and king" and she did just that, with genuine personal warmth every moment of our 3 days. They are both incredibly generous hosts. They went out of their way to attend to our needs - that x factor which is missing from the service in most hotels. They both stated that the kitchen in the main house "is your kitchen" and we used it whenever necessary. I fell and gave my thumb a nasty sprain, so was frequently in and out of the kitchen for ice - no problem at all. Hilde’s mother - she cleaned the rooms to immaculate perfection and was also very sweet - the apple truly didn’t fall far from that tree! Note that staff are not consistently on site, but can be called if questions arise. This arrangement may not suit everyone, but we liked not having them hover over us as it afforded a level of privacy you don’t always find in a small B & B where it often feels as though you are tiptoeing around in someone else’s house. But the suite - ah, the suite. It is hard to describe the many large and small ways the layout, furnishings, decor, and extra touches combine to produce that "I love this place!" feeling. Photos may help - and I have attached many, because the website does not do justice to the suite.Details that may not have been mentioned by others are:- separate entrance from the street and hallway, but easy and quick access to main house and kitchen (exactly 9 steps)- enchanting garden and patio space. The suite shares the garden (although others rarely use it) but has its own covered patio area where breakfast is served and you can sit with a glass of wine and your book- beautiful original hardwood floors with natural fibre and wool rugs for coziness- decor that reflects the attentions of a clever designer with an eye to comfort, convenience and charm, eg, chair in the bathroom, windows from the bedroom into the bathroom, little teddy bears, throw blankets, water glass and bottle water on each bedside table, candies, candles. All unique and pleasing to the senses- brilliant lighting and effective blackout blinds- lots of closet space, extra pillows and hangers on request- full length mirror- supremely comfortable bed with the highest quality linens- a bathroom to die for, with separate shower, soaker tub, and separate toilet room with small basin- separate kitchenette, with tea kettle and automatic coffee maker, honour bar- fast and effective radiators in every room if it’s cold, and a safe and quiet, multi-speed fan if it’s hot- bathrobes and slippers- bath salts as well as the usual shower gel, shampoo, lotion- books, games, cards, and a large, stone fireplace already stacked with wood- CD player with selection of CDsI did take a quick look at the other rooms just so I could do a comparison for TA readers:Vanilla Room - best if stairs are an issue - only room on the second floor. Pretty room, but is smaller than website photos make it appear. The bathroom does have those lovely big windows, so lots of light there. Free-standing, old fashioned type tub big enough for one, and separate shower. Street side, so will be a bit noisier with windows open. Grey & White Room - one of 2 rooms on the third floor. Stairs between 2nd and 3rd floors are steep. Also v pretty, and larger. Did not see the bathroom. Chocolate Room - shares the third floor with G & W Room. The largest of the 3 rooms and also v pretty. Has windows on two sides - one street side, and one little attic type window, which would allow a cross breeze. Bath v attractive (built-in, not free standing) and separate shower, although bathroom a bit smaller than Vanilla Room bathroom. All rooms are charming and lovely. All have wifi in the rooms. In the suite, some areas produced a weak signal - don’t know if this is the case in the other rooms. A guest staying in the Vanilla Room mentioned creaking stairs - which is unavoidable if you wish to stay in any of the older builings in Bruges - it just comes witht he territory. All rooms have access to complimentary self-serve tea and coffee, biscuits, sweets, potatoe chips, etc and an honour bar for beer, coke and wine, 24-7. This is a big plus, and especially not having to ask for service. Breakfast is a plentiful and quality "continental-plus". Freshly squeezed juice and fruit, yogurt, hams and cheeses, chocolate, assortment of breads and jams, eggs cooked to order if you wish, French press coffee and a variety of teas, and last but not least, croissants and pastries. All served with a smile at the communal dining room table whenever you want it (between 8:30 and 10). It was a relief not having to commit to a specific time the night before as is sometimes the case with B & Bs.We both loved Number 11 - the exquisite suite, the unbeatable location, and the exemplary staff - and give it our highest recommendation.

YOLINDA LOGIST  |  22/08/2012

Een heel fijn onthaal. Je kon van alles gebruikmaken zonder belemmering (koffie, thee, frisdranken). Ze waren heel gastvrij: als er vragen waren kon je meteen bij de gastvrouwen terecht. Kamers waren rustig en werden elke dag opgefrist: badhanddoeken waren voldoende aanwezig en werden dagelijks ververst, zeepjes werden aangevuld,... De enige tip die we kunnen geven, is een vliegenraam in de slaapkamer plaatsen. Er was niets op het ontbijt aan te merken: lekker en een hele fijne bediening! Number 11 is in een heel rustige straat gelegen en dicht bij alle bezienswaardigheden. Zeker een aanrader!

cox59 Dunkerque, France  |  17/05/2012

“Week end a Bruges” Réservation très facile et contact par mail rapide.Nous nous sommes garés au parking couvert Pandreijte, nous avons payé un petit 9euros pour 24h ce qui est raisonnable dans cette ville.L’adresse est à 5minutes du parking, très agréable à pieds.Accueil super, pleins de petits conseils pour les restaurants ou les visites.Chambre conforme à ce que nous avions vu sur la réservation, décoration avec beaucoup de goût, petit déjeuner excellent et pour toutes les nationalités.Nous sommes repartis ravis, je conseille vivement cette adresse pour son prix, son confort, sa convivialité et sa situation géographique par rapport au centre ville!

KentandLoni Alaska  |  10/05/2012

“A Treasure in Bruges!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 We were so delighted to find and stay at Number 11 during our trip to Bruges in April. Our greeting and orientation with Tania made for a warm welcome. The house was beautifully decorated with the littlest details like a warm fire, fresh flowers, and biscuits nested on the bedroom pillows added the nicest touches for our stay. My husband and I were in the Chocolate Room, which given that Bruges is known for chocolate, was so very appropriate for our time there. Hilde, who was so generous with both her time and her suggestions to make our stay more comfortable, made restaurant reservations for us that enabled us to go out and about without worrying about making them ourselves. Breakfast was a great start to our mornings with fresh squeezed juice, fruit, heavenly breads and eggs cooked to order by Hilde. And after touring all day, it was so nice to come back to a cozy place for a glass of wine and relaxation. We definitely recommend that anyone coming to Bruges stay at Number 11!Loni and Kent Ketterman

65 Reviews: Previous | Next